Week 6


What we learned/did

  • We finished up Juke this week, which was our 5-part angular workshop. It was a relief to be done with it, but then I ended up redoing most of it on my own time.  We had an assessment about Angular on Friday, and redoing the workshop was a very good way to study. Plus everything makes way more sense the second time you see it. The assessment itself was (don’t hate me, any fellow classmates who might be reading this) pretty fun. It’s nice to break out of the pair programming routine now and then and just spend a couple silent hours really focusing on your work. Plus, I love Angular, as you might have guessed if you’ve been keeping up with my blog.
  • We also briefly explored web authentication, which is one of those really huge things that I never would have thought to learn on my own. I now know how to make a website that you can log in to, which has become pretty essential. And that thing where it says “log in with google”? Yeah, I can do that too.

My favorite parts

  • We had a pretty fun Harry Potter themed cyber security workshop called ‘Defense Against the Dark Arts. I find that even (especially?) as an adult, Harry Potter references really help me focus.
  • I have also gotten more serious about algorithm practice on my own. There is a prize for anyone who can reach level 4 on codewars by the start of senior phase, so I’ve been working on some trickier problems. I’ve also been attempting to write out code by hand and test it on paper before trying it on the computer, which is very useful and also very very frustrating.

Code and the city

  • I’ve escaped the city for the long weekend (see trees below) and the fresh air and unobstructed views of the horizon are pretty nice. But New York was also quite nice this week, weather wise, and I’ve found a few spots next to raised gardens where, if you crouch down and ignore your peripheral vision, you can make yourself believe that you are surrounded by nature, which helps with the sanity.
  • I’ve had a lot of really excellent falafel this week, mostly from the Halal truck parked tantalizingly between my gym and Grace Hopper, exuding the smell equivalent of siren song, but also from Roti, which I pass by all the time but tried for the first time this week and highhhhhly recommend.

My overall thoughts/opinions

  • I can’t believe junior phase is over! Looking back, I have learned so much, a lot of which I would never have taught myself. We have learned to connect databases, server-side code, and code for the browser through http and AJAX requests. We have been exposed to a vast number of npm libraries and dived deeply into a handful of them. That said, I am very excited for senior/project phase, where I can use more of my own creativity and problem solving abilities. I’m looking for some project ideas, so if you have any, please send them along!

Leave a Reply

